Record Review – Narrative Retold by Fire From the Gods

Record Review of “Narrative Retold” by Fire From the Gods by Twitch!

Fire From the Gods is a mix of Sevendust meets Skindred meets P.O.D. meets Downset meets Bionic Jive meets Asking Alexandria. Everything from reggae to metalcore to rap to hardcore to punk. Sound Crazy? Well it is. The awesome kind of crazy I love, and that’s exactly what Austin, Texas’s Fire From The Gods bring to the table with “Narrative Retold”. Formed in 2007, their current lineup is AJ Channer (Vocals), Drew Walker (Guitar), Bonner Baker (Bass), Richard Wicander (Drums) and Jameson Teat (Guitar). ‘Narrative Retold’ is Fire from The God’s sophomore effort and their debut on major label Rise Records. This album has all the songs from 2016’s ‘Narrative’ and adds two new tracks,” The Voiceless” and ”The Taste” which were recorded with Jonathon Davis of Korn.

Fire From the Gods “The Voiceless” video was directed by Ramon Boutviseth and AJ Channer comments: ‘The Voiceless’ is referring to the callousness of society. This generation is exposed to so many shocking and graphic events. No one seems to bat an eye. There is no compassion or care for one’s fellow man. Violence towards each other is a normal occurrence factored into our lives these days. Speaking up about it is nothing new, but it needs to be said. Yes, the world will keep spinning, and life does go on, but we need to slow down and smell the fucking roses once in awhile.”

The Pit Magazine, Twitch, Fire From the Gods, Narrative Retold, High Road Publicity, Rise Records
Fire From The Gods – Photo Credit – Drew Anthony Smith

With TWITCH we strive for a meaningful message married to powerful music And Fire From the Gods delivers that like a boss! ‘Narrative Retold’ s songs have powerful, righteous lyrics regarding racial and social issues. Their dynamic, intense brand of well-produced music coupled with lyrics that address misinformed, ill-advised hate and anger make this a politically and culturally cognizant album that flat out melts faces!

The musical diversity and prowess on the album are superb, but the vocal emotion and message differentiate FFTG from the pack! Absolutely worth a listen with tracks ranging from sonic brutality to more airy anthems with an acoustic version of ”Excuse Me”. Great flow to the CD, in its entirety.

Fire from The Gods is a rare and exceptional breed of band! I’m hooked and hope to see them live, soon. They were in Omaha in June so I reached out to Kyle Fertwagner, owner of The Lookout Lounge regarding their performance at his venue. His response, “They are a band that definitely sticks out from others in their genre. AJ is a great front man!” High praise from someone I trust! With zero hyperbole, I will say Fire From the Gods is my personal favorite review. Listening to this CD with no preconception was an eye opening, make me feel like a kid again epiphany!

I could go on ad nauseam, but I’d rather sum up this review quite simply, “Be advised: Play ‘Narrative Retold’ LOUD! That is all!”

Track List:

  1. The Voiceless
  2. The Taste
  3. Public Enemy
  4. End Transmission
  5. Excuse Me
  6. Composition
  7. Evolve
  8. Pretenders
  9. Diversion
  10. In Spite of Doubt
  11. Lifeline
  12. Into the Blue
  13. Excuse Me (acoustic)
The Pit Magazine, Twitch, Fire From the Gods, Narrative Retold, High Road Publicity, Rise Records
2017, May 11- Fire From the Gods-Lookout Lounge Omaha-Geraldography-10

See more photos by Geraldography of Fire From the Gods HERE!

Follow The Pit on FacebookTwitter & Instagram!

Support these and other fine touring bands, dig their music, and buy some merch!


Related posts

One thought on “Record Review – Narrative Retold by Fire From the Gods

  1. […] Read Twitch’s Review of “Narrative Retold” by Fire From the Gods HERE! […]

Leave a Comment